Easy, dreamy German Baby Pancake recipe

We like German Babies at this house.

This kind:

cal booty

And this kind:

I’ve been particularly devoted to baking the latter on the weekends, since I started craving it a few months ago. It had been years since I’d eaten one, but I never forgot. We had a magical first meeting, the German Baby and I. My friend Kat whipped one up for me years ago on a rainy Portland morning. I was allured by how it just curled its golden edges up out of the skillet. And how it tasted sort of like a crepe, but thicker and more hearty. And how you could just top it with any delicious thing and have a miracle breakfast.

Apparently, some people call it a German Baby, others a Dutch Baby, or a German or Dutch Pancake. One thing is for certain. It is easy and magnificent. And it has brought much joy to our lives these past few weekend mornings. Jo is now an expert baking assistant, cracking the eggs and stirring in the flour and milk.

Dutch German Baby Pancake

3 eggs
1/2 cup milk, divided
1/2 cup flour, divided
salt
butter

Preheat oven to 450 with a cast iron skillet inside. Beat eggs and add a pinch or two of salt. Add 1/4 cup of the milk and mix. Add 1/4 cup of flour and mix. Then repeat–remaining milk, mix, remaining flour, mix. At some point in this process, throw a knob of butter in your hot skillet and let it melt. Make it a serious knob, folks–1-2 tbsp. Once butter is melted and swirled around bottom and sides of skillet, pour in batter. Bake at 450 for 5-10 mins, until you see the edges start to curl up. Turn the oven down to 300 and bake for another 5ish minutes. Until she puffs up in all her glory.

Then you top that sucker with whatever you want. Fruit, nuts, yogurt, all 3… We’re especially into apples, sauteed with butter, sugar, cinnamon and some lemon juice and topping the whole thing off with some greek yogurt.

apples

And I bet this can be easily modified into a gluten-free recipe. I’ve been subbing in 1/4 cup of buckwheat flour and will try one with all buckwheat this weekend, just to see how it goes. Let me know if you perfect a gluten-free recipe, and I’ll post it.

This recipe feeds Jo and AJ and I for breakfast. I also recently discovered the joy of eating all of it myself, when I was home with a sick baby and feeling a little under the weather.

germanbabysickday

This was certainly the high point of the sick day. Things quickly degenerated, and I posted the gory/hysterical family GI distress details on the Facebook page. Let’s just say it was a doosey of a Friday.

So now that I’ve whetted your appetite and possibly made you feel a bit queasy, go forth and enjoy!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Corrie

     /  February 26, 2014

    I’ve been making Dutch Baby for several years, and I have found that if you add too much non-white flour (I’ve used whole wheat), the batter doesn’t puff up as beautifully. Maybe buckwheat would work better? Also, I whisk the eggs into all of the flour at once, then whisk in the salt and milk, and I bake it at 400F for 20 minutes. I often double the recipe, and instead of placing it in a cast iron skillet, I put it in a large lasagna pan, just heating the pan with butter in the oven-as opposed to the stove top- and then pouring the batter in. With a double recipe, I can feed four adults easily.

    Reply

Thank you for commenting it up. I love hearing from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,458 other followers

